Interstellar Adventures

January 15, 2005

Snowman Shuffle at WRL

Filed under: Uncategorized — by InterstellarLass @ 1:52 pm

It was a gorgeous morning to be out running. The temperature was cool and there was very little wind. The course was mostly flat but peppered with a few small hills. We started promptly at 9 am, and I hung to the back of the pack. There were both 5K and 10K runners starting together, and some racers had their dogs with them. Kudos go out to everyone who participated, but especially all the silver-haired racers. I hope that if I make it that far in life, I’m able to keep running like they do. One lady in particular made me smile. She was tiny, thin, with full makeup and fuzzy ear-warmers. She was probably one of the oldest racers on the course and was out there putting one foot in front of the other and workin’ it! Go granny Go!

I ran the first mile quickly (for me) at right on 12 minutes flat. I knew I wasn’t going to keep that up…in case you haven’t figured it out yet, I’m SLOOOOOW. I continued on as fast as I could for as long as I could, finally resorting to the 4/1 method…run four minutes, fast walk a minute.

Not long after, I started seeing the 5K runners headed back to the finish line. Young kids running flat out. Ahhh, to be young again. My knee started to hurt just after mile 3, while I continued with my 4/1 pace. At the turn-around for the 10K-ers, I realized that there was only one person behind me. But hey, I wasn’t running to win, I run to finish and better my own personal time. Still, I was glad to not be last. The way back seemed to fly by (sort of) and I started seeing mile markers faster than I expected.

I had originally wanted to finish in under 1:15, but I could tell that wasn’t going to happen. So, I revised my goal to finish under 1:20. That was attainable if I pushed myself just a bit more. I started to see racers running back to wherever they came from while I got closer to the finish. I could see the end, and I kicked it up a notch, and crossed under the time clock at 1:18:54. Not good, but not horrible.

Next time I will finish under 1:15! It’s good to have goals, right? I figured my overall average pace was somewhere around 12:45, which is a great improvement (I think) from my 13:19 average at the Turkey Trot back in November.

My friend Judy is running the Houston Marathon tomorrow. I hope she has a good race. She just ran the White Rock Marathon a month ago. She’s inspirational! Good luck Judy!

2 Comments »

  1. Jenny and I walked WRL a couple weekends back; it took us around 3 hours, but that was with walking, stopping, sitting, falling asleep, waking up, walking some more, being marauded by ducks, walking back in the right direction, going for a swim, being resuscitated after drowning, thanking the EMTs, and walking the rest of the way. Hard on the knees, it was. I’d rather bike it, at least to show those ducks a thing or two; and find the one that has my wallet. 😦

    Comment by C — January 17, 2005 @ 11:09 am |Reply

  2. Valuable info. Fortunate me I found your web site unintentionally, and I’m shocked why this accident did not happened earlier! I bookmarked it.

    Comment by outillage — September 16, 2011 @ 12:07 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

