Interstellar Adventures

May 28, 2005

Saturday Training & Urban Adventure

Filed under: Uncategorized — by InterstellarLass @ 10:06 pm

Today, I got up at 5 am, met my friend Judy at 6 am. She’s training for a 50-mile ultra trail run in Wyoming in a couple of weeks. She usually trains with her husband, but he was out of town this weekend. So, while Judy ran and I biked (mountain bike) as her support, carrying her extra fluids and snacks. We started at the Galatyn Park/75 DART Station to the UTD trail, over to the Prestonwood Trail, over to the White Rock Creek Trail, to White Rock Lake, through Lakewood to M-Streets, then to the Katy Trail. Then, we went all the way down the Katy Trail past the American Airlines Center, and ended down in the West End. 27.77 miles total in 5 hours! Holy guacamole! You know you have a sickness when a training run is longer than a full marathon! I’m only working my way up to the full marathon right now. We’ll see if I get infected with the ‘running sickness’ any more after that.

We then stopped and ate lunch at Fridays. It had started raining by this point (we actually got very lucky and stayed dry all the way downtown. So, I pulled my bike into Fridays and parked it in the bar. I’m guessing we were pretty stinky, which is why the hostesses asked us if we wanted to sit in the bar next to my muddy mountain bike, and away from all their nice, normal, good-smelling customers. So, we ate, re-hydrated and checked in with Judy’s husband who was running from the airport in Charlotte, NC to the Lowe’s Speedway out there.

We finished up lunch, and it was still raining, although not quite as hard. We bought our rail passes and waited for the next northbound DART train to arrive. I managed to get myself and my bike on the train to go back to the Galatyn Park station. The slow rocking of the train almost put me to sleep, and definitely made me yawn a few times. We finally got to our stop and I was ready to get back in my car and get home! Except me and my bike didn’t make it out of the train before it started moving again. We didn’t realized until too late that we had to push the button to open the doors and only Judy managed to get off before the doors closed again! YIKES! Wait! My car is back there! Fortunately I had just given Judy her car key out of my pack, so she was able to get in her car and wait for me. She offered to come get me, but I didn’t want to leave my bike unattended, and definitely didn’t want to put a greasy, muddy bike in her brand new beautiful Saab.

So, I got off at the next station and tried to figure out how to get back to where I was parked. The George Bush Tollway was right in front of me, and short of riding back on the freeway service road in the rain, I didn’t have much choice of where to go. Judy said get back to Renner Road. So, I rode my bike up the service road a bit, and turned onto Plano Road, which then intersected with Renner. Fortunately there was not much traffic, so I felt relatively at ease, even riding in the driving rain.

I turned into an office park and tried to pick up the UTD Trail from there. Except it was fenced off where I tried to get on. Between the office park and the trail was a 5 foot black iron fence. There was no way around that was easy to see, but I did not want to ride back up a very busy 75 and go up the service road. So, I devised a plan. I threw (well, gently lifted and placed) my bike over the fence, and then started to climb over myself. Then, I noticed the other side of the trail wasn’t fenced. There was a bridge over a creek just 25 yards down, so I rand down and ignoring the numerous creep-crawlies, I slid down under the bridge and bumping my pack against the bottom of the bridge a few times, managed to make it out without touching anything that moved. Successfully to the other side, I ran back to my bike. I had no clue which way to go, but I headed off in what seemed like the right direction. Just on the other side of the bridge I quickly realized, nope, not the right way and turned around. I biked down to a split in the path and again gambled, this time correctly, on the path to take. Then, I saw signs for Galatyn and followed them. Until I got to the sign that pointed both ways. I turned left, even though I had a strong urge to turn right. Either way I would get there! I’m pretty sure I picked the long way around, but still managed to find my way back to the office park and to my friend who was nervously waiting for me. She accused me of just wanting to get in a ‘real ride’ for a few minutes. I did indeed get my heart rate up there for a minute!

Whew! I guess I call that a “Mini-Urban Adventure”. It turned out it probably would have been a couple of minutes faster for me to wait for the next train headed back south, but it would not nearly have been as fun, and I wouldn’t have as good a story to tell to you all! And this I do in the name of training!

Up at 5 am again tomorrow to run a 3-mile time trial to be placed in a running group for my marathon class. Certainly won’t be as eventful, but I hope I have a good time. I’m fairly certain I’ll be in the slowest group, but I don’t think I want to be THE slowest.

4 Comments »

  1. I like the new photo by the way.

    Comment by culfy — May 29, 2005 @ 5:29 am |Reply

  2. You’re in a marathon class? Rock ON.

    I ran my first marathon last year, at 35. I can tell you without ANY hestiation that it was one of the coolest things I’ve ever done that didn’t my family. Although, it DID involve them, since training took so much time… now that I think about it.

    Be well!

    Comment by Rich | Championable — May 29, 2005 @ 6:15 am |Reply

  3. Knowing the area you’re talking about, I can almost see the visual of you in this little escapade. Although, I’ve never seen anyone get on a DART rail with a bike before… LOL

    Gee, it’s possible you could be one of the bike riders I almost ran ov– um, I mean passed on the street. 😉

    Comment by FTS — May 29, 2005 @ 11:50 am |Reply

  4. See, you miss AR so much that you had to make your own little sprint. LOL! What an adventure!

    Comment by Tamsinor — May 29, 2005 @ 12:58 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

