Interstellar Adventures

June 23, 2005

My Favorite Martini’s

Filed under: Uncategorized — by InterstellarLass @ 11:45 am

For the benefit of Indigo, who has never had the extreme pleasure of drinking a martini, I will provide a list of my favorite martini recipes. Sure, sure, for you purists out there, I will start with the Gin Martini. But, I love the flavorful, mixed concoctions served in a martini glass.

Gin Martini

Dry Vermouth
2 oz gin, chilled

Pour a little bit of dry vermouth in a chilled martini glass and swirl to
coat the inside of the glass. Dispose of excess vermouth. In a shaker full of ice, gently swirl or stir* the gin before straining into glass.

Serving suggestion: Garnish with olives, lemon twist or cocktail onion and add rocks if you like.

*I don’t care how James Bond does it…gin will bruise. Shaking gin in the ice causes the ice to melt faster and quickly dilutes the flavor of the gin, causing it to taste like rubbing alcohol.

Lemon Drop Martini

1.5 oz Absolut Citron
1.5 oz Limoncello
2 oz sweet and sour
1.5 oz fresh lemon juice
1 tsp sugar

Fill a shaker with ice, and add the ingredients above. Place the shaker cap over the shaker, and shake vigorously until the shaker becomes too cold to hold. Remove the shaker cap and strain into a chilled martini glass. Garnish with a lemon rind twist.

Sidecar Martini

2 oz Chivas Regal
1.5 oz fresh lemon juice
1 oz Limoncello

Fill a shaker with ice, and add the ingredients above. Place the shaker cap over the shaker, and shake vigorously until the shaker becomes too cold to hold. Remove the shaker cap and strain into a chilled, sugar-rimmed martini glass. Garnish with a lemon rind twist.

Big Easy Martini

1.5 oz Southern Comfort
.5 oz Raspberry-Flavored Liqueur
1 oz Sweet and Sour Mix
1 oz Lemon-Lime Soda

Fill a shaker with ice, and add the ingredients above. Place the shaker cap over the shaker, and shake vigorously until the shaker becomes too cold to hold. Remove the shaker cap and strain into a chilled, sugar-rimmed martini glass. Garnish with a lime rind twist.

Key Lime Martini

2 oz. Absolut Vanilla Vodka
1 oz. Rose’s Lime Juice
1 oz. Half and Half Cream

Fill a shaker with ice, and add the ingredients above. Place the shaker cap over the shaker, and shake vigorously until the shaker becomes too cold to hold. Remove the shaker cap and strain into a chilled martini glass. Garnish with a lime rind twist.

Cosmopolitan Martini

.5 oz Cointreau orange liqueur
1 oz Absolut vodka
juice of 1/2 limes
1 splash cranberry juice

Fill a shaker with ice, and add the ingredients above. Place the shaker cap over the shaker, and shake vigorously until the shaker becomes too cold to hold. Remove the shaker cap and strain into a chilled martini glass. Garnish with a lime rind twist.

The best way to enjoy these fine beverages are in your sassiest heels, with lots of friends, possibly a poker game, some music, a little dancing, and perhaps a little impromptu karaoke. Anytime is a good time for a martini!

So maybe he’s not all bad…

Filed under: Uncategorized — by InterstellarLass @ 10:31 am

Last night I went to dinner with the kids and my soon-to-be-ex. I haven’t done this in the last three months. For awhile, in the beginning, every time he picked the kids up for his nights out with them, he invited me along. I declined enough that he finally stopped asking. But, last night Z had a basketball game at 9 (which, IMO is waaay to late for 10 year olds to be playing basketball), so we had a bit of time before the game. We went to one of our local favorites, Falafel & More. We know the owners fairly well, and the food is delicious. I had the lamb kebabs, and some kind of beef/rice/pea pastry puff thing that was so very yummy.

Since we had the extra time to kill, and we haven’t had a chance to talk recently, we sent the kids over to the other side of the restaurant (it’s a small place and was totally empty except for us). A couple of weeks ago, he had brought me all these papers from the lawyer that he didn’t understand. I looked at them (briefly) and didn’t really understand them either. Plus, I was sticking to my guns that he’s going to have to do all the hard work on this since he was the instigator. I’ll sign and initial where I have to, but that’s about it. So, he made a second appointment with his lawyer to get some kindergarden level explanations. He’s meeting with her today. So, I had to tell him a whole list of things I was expecting to be outlined in the papers. He didn’t balk at any of what I said, which kind of surprised me. And then I talked about a lot of the activities I’ve been doing lately, and he actually told me that he was really happy that I was doing so much and doing so well. He said that the hardest thing about making the decision he did was that it would hurt me so much, and I didn’t deserve that. And I told him that now that I’ve had time to reflect on the situation, I realize it was best. That I don’t feel the stress and the pressure that I did months ago, and that I actually was relieved.

He’s not a bad guy, just not the right guy for me. While it hurts, I’m glad that he and I are able to discuss things like we did last night in a calm and rational manner. (Yes, those of you who know me so well, I can be calm and rational!) I actually felt good for once after talking with him. But, I still want Disc 2 of my John Mayer, Any Given Thursday CD back…

Then we went to Z’s basketball game and watched our team get slaughtered…we were down to just 5 players due to summer vacations, so the boys played the whole game. The other team had bigger kids, 3 fresh subs, and were very aggressive. Even when they were up by 20 points, they were still being super-aggressive. I was mad that their coach didn’t call them off a bit. No need to press in the last quarter when you’re up by that much! Dang!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.