Interstellar Adventures

July 5, 2005

Sunday’s Ride at Arbor Hills

Filed under: Uncategorized — by InterstellarLass @ 3:37 pm

Please note that I have received comments from some readers that now that I am including more images (for your viewing pleasure) my site has become slower to load. I have also been told that my images are not visible to all readers. For this reason, I am toying with switching my image hosting, and have done so for this post. Please let me know if you have noticed any slow-down in page load time, or if you can/cannot see the images below. Thanks!

Last Thursday you got to see the pictures from the run at Arbor Hills. But, those were views from the paved trail as I was running along. On Sunday, I went to go ride my bike out on the dirt trails. I had run these about a month ago, and decided they were easy enough for me to ride on my bike. Yeah, I stink on the bike, as is evidenced by my multiple injuries last weekend. Hey, at least I’m learning to fall…

I didn’t fall at all on Sunday. I was going too slow and being too careful to fall down and go boom.

One interesting thing to note about Arbor Hills is, it’s not just a park, it’s a Nature Preserve. As such, there are a couple of features, including this Biofilter. It’s meant to utilize water run-off from the parking lot.


The trail is a series of switchbacks, up and around a small section of the park. There are quite a few tight twists and turns in there.





The sunflowers were in full bloom.



I don’t know what these little white flowers are, but they were all over the open fields.

Another view of the pavillion featured in the Thursday night run photos.

After I biked the entire trail, I rode off down the paved trail for a bit to see what I could see. I noticed what appeared to be a jeep road of some kind, and followed it down a bit. As I rounded a bend, I could see a pond hidden down below.

As I approached the water to get a better shot of the water, I saw a movement off to my left. A very large frog…bigger than my hand, jumped into the water. It was dark, and I didn’t see a second one sitting there as well until it was too late to get a picture of it. Then, there were little froggies jumping in the water too. I’ll have to go back in super-stealth mode in order to try to catch them on camera. They were massive amphibians!


2 Comments »

  1. Wow…I can’t even imagine…you run all of this??

    It’s beautiful though:-) How is the heat?

    Comment by MommaK — July 5, 2005 @ 5:08 pm |Reply

  2. Well, not in the water…just on the trail! 🙂 The heat wasn’t too bad. I got out there fairly early after my 6 am run. But, after an hour, I was done. It was getting too hot by 10 am, so I went home.

    Comment by InterstellarLass — July 5, 2005 @ 5:29 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

