Interstellar Adventures

July 5, 2005

The “Stay Cool” Fourth of July party

Filed under: Uncategorized — by InterstellarLass @ 5:00 pm

Sunday evening was was reserved for partying with my girlfriends that I love so dearly. I headed over to my girlfriend Judy’s house for some BBQ, some beer, some poker and fun! We play out in the heat too much all the time anyway, so we decided for once, not to sweat it out. We were going to stay and play inside!

My friend Judy and I. Judy is the running fool that has pulled me into her mad, mad world. 🙂

She has a cute little pug named Pebbles.

And a new kitty that adopted them. Aptly named Fluffy Tail for the fluffiest tail on the skinniest cat I’ve ever seen.

My lovely friend Melissa. She used to be my client at my old job, and is my absolute, all-time favorite Queen of the Hair Toys.

She’s going to kill me, but she never reads my blog anyway. None of you others better tell her either. My friend Christy, that I used to work with. She’s an awesome, wonderful person, just like all my friends.

I had a beer recommended to me, well not this specific beer, but a type of beer. Don’t know if this qualifies or not, but I gave it a go nevertheless. Warsteiner.

It was a dark, heady beer, and I was lucky enough to get to pour it into a nice, frozen mug.

And, the taste test passed! This is a really, really nice beer! I didn’t need my back-up 6 pack of Shiner after all!

During the party, Judy’s husband Keith, pulled out the ‘penalty flag’. It came as a freebie with the DirecTV service. We had fun during the evening making up various ‘Party Penalties’. My personal favorite was Keith’s “Illegal use of disco”. But, I was too busy throwing the flag to get a picture. Bummer.

But, the highlight of the evening, well for me anyway, was seeing my friend Michelle.

Well, not so much Michelle (no offense hon!) as who she brought with her! The new baby, Alex!

He’s such a little peanut!

And I got to hold him! I admit, I’m a sucker for babies! Especially new ones. He was such a little sweetheart!

But, he got a little peeved when I tried to take too many pictures of him.

Mmmm…another Warsteiner. I highly recommend this beer.

Then, after the night settled down a bit, and the cute baby went home, Christy, Judy, Keith and I sat down to play a little poker. Keith had been talking smack all night (well, not really, but it makes the story better) about my poker playing skillz. See, I win frequently. Not every time, but frequently. And, I told you all why…everyone else just chit-chats. I’ve got to be the Poker Czar and remind people when to bid, how much to bid, that it’s their deal, etc. But, we have fun!

Ummm…What’s that rule again?

The host-and-hostess with the mostest. And Keith runs too. He’s training for an Ironman right now (full or half…I can’t remember off the top of my head).

See…we all play nice and have fun!

Yep, still drinking the magnificent Warsteiner.

Ahhh. Yes. The InterstellarLass rules! I win…and I didn’t even want to play for money…I forgot mine and tried not to borrow the $5 ante, but noooo, Keith insisted.

Thank you Judy and Keith for a great party! I have the best friends!

3 Comments »

  1. SOunds like a great evening. All we did was play Mad Gab. lol

    Comment by FTS — July 5, 2005 @ 6:03 pm |Reply

  2. You always have the most fun. Lucky!!

    Comment by Jolynn — July 6, 2005 @ 9:23 am |Reply

  3. Babies, beer & poker…my 3 favorite things;-)

    Looks like you had a great time. I’m glad. You need a break after all that running around. See, you’re making me sound like your mother….

    Comment by MommaK — July 6, 2005 @ 4:26 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

