Interstellar Adventures

February 7, 2007

All My Cars

Filed under: Adventures,Blast from the Past,It's Me, Lass — by InterstellarLass @ 2:36 pm

I was just reading up over at Kill The Goat, and Jay was describing her car “troubles”, and it made me think of one of my old cars. And then I thought about all the cars I’ve driven. Actually not that many really. But a couple of them were doozies.

Car 1: Mom’s mini-van. Yes, the vehicle I drove during the majority of my ‘formative’ years of driving. When not using one of the driving school’s cars, I was in the mom-mobile. I even helped her drive it from Texas to Cape Cod the year I was 15. We surprised my great-grandmother on her 80th birthday. Note to self: Do not surprise 80 year old women. Fondest memory: On the way home after taking my driving test with the Texas DPS Officer, I had to slam on the brakes to avoid a red light runner (him not me). As I did, my dad’s handgun came sliding out from under the front seat. He always carried it on road trips, and we’d just returned from Thanksgiving in Houston. Would not have been good had that happened with the DPS Officer in the car.

Car 2: The Chevy Cavalier. I don’t even remember what year it was. Early 80’s most likely. My dad bought it from the impounded cars auto auction. He bought it for $300 and then sold a guy a pair of shoes for $2 that he found in the trunk. Grand total for the first Hottiemobile: $298. Grand total of repairs that dad poured into it over the next 10 months before it finally died it’s own slow, sputtering death: $$$$. Fondest memory: During heavy rains, I would have to lift my feet off the floorboard while going through puddles to avoid getting wet feet. Rust.

Car 3: Dad’s Mazda RX7. This wasn’t a bad deal at all. 5-speed manual Turbo engine. Candy apple red. I was hot stuff. It was ‘on loan’ to me because my dad had bought a truck exactly at the same time Car 2 died. But my mom didn’t want to ‘go out’ in a truck, so my parents still used the Mazda on dates. Fondest memory: My friend Reagan and I picked up quite a few guys while driving this car.

Car 4: 80’s something Honda Civic. My 2nd and last manual car. I actually like driving a manual transmission. Hmmm. Wonder why… This was the first car I bought with my own money. Cost about $1,500 if I recall. Money spent repairing this car: $$$$. At one point I killed it by forgetting to change the oil, oh, ever. Then the engine block siezed. A guy friend from high school repaired it for me with a rebuilt engine block. Fondest memory: I could only use the air conditioning while driving on the freeway. In traffic and city streets it would overheat. In Texas, this is not a good thing.

Car 5: Dad’s truck. The one he bought when I got to drive Car 3. He’d bought a Suburban at the same time Car 4 died. Convenient timing. My sister and I had to share possession of this vehicle, except I got dibs because I was going to school in Denton, and I had Zed by then. Fondest memory: Well, not so fond really. I got robbed at gunpoint shortly after getting out of the truck. Rock on.

Car 6: My first VW. I bought this one for $6000 using a tax refund check as my down payment. God Bless the Earned Income Credit. I actually really loved this car. It was a ’91 VW Jetta. It had some interesting quirks, such as you could listen to the radio while the car was all the way off. Fondest memory: When the heater core went out and I almost cried thinking about the money I didn’t have to get it fixed, then finding out it was under lifetime factory warranty and getting it fixed for less than $10.

Car 7: A Toyota Camry. My Ex talked me into leasing this car. I was happy with the car iteself. Rode very well and was very dependable. But I think it was cursed. I think I got into four total accidents in this car. Only one was my fault though, and that was at a really bad intersection on a rainy night. Fondest memory: Turning it back into the lease company.

Car 8: My current car. Another VW Jetta. I had this car delivered to me, sight unseen, by the lease company. I didn’t want to lease again, but the Ex wouldn’t fork over any extra cash to buy one outright. He was convinced leasing was the cheapest way to go and he liked the idea of it. I should have known better when he decided against leasing both his trucks that he drove when we were married.  Fondest memory: Driving to El Paso with Nick. We had a cooler and picnic basket in the back, and made good time. I’ll be even more excited though when I can turn this one in in the next few months.

Car 9: TBD. I’d like a mid-sized SUV that gets good mileage and has good leg room. We’ll have to see how the numbers work out when I turn in the Jetta. I may end up having to lease again.

What was your favorite car that you’ve ever driven? Fondest car memory?

6 Comments »

  1. My favorite car is our Suburban, because it’s nice and fancy and pretty and I’m the queen of the road! Woo hoo!

    Comment by Jolynn — February 7, 2007 @ 3:02 pm |Reply

  2. my fondest car memories are x-rated;)
    i have some not so fond memories, like my ford focus, that i had huge issues which and my dealer choose to ignore, causing me to contact ford canada and get rid of my car. no fords, ever again.

    Comment by better safe than sorry — February 7, 2007 @ 5:17 pm |Reply

  3. During heavy rains, I would have to lift my feet off the floorboard while going through puddles to avoid getting wet feet.

    LOL I’ve had a leaky door and windows, but never leaky floorboards 🙂

    I’ve never leased, and the only two people I knew who leased seemed to be trying to get out of their lease from the start.

    Seems like I’ve written about some of the cars I’ve had, but it’s been awhile. I like this idea. I might ‘borrow’ it 🙂

    Comment by Bone — February 7, 2007 @ 6:28 pm |Reply

  4. Very cool post, Lass. Sounds like you’ve had some interesting vehicles (and you changed the oil in all of them? Except the cursed #4)
    My wife did the same thing to her Subaru years ago.
    Favorite vehicle: my Dodge Duster with the shift on the steering post. I canned it when the fuel pump went the third time. Kinda like my ’66 Corvair as well with the engine in the trunk. Never got stuck in the snow.(thank God, there was no heat!)
    ~m

    Comment by michaelm — February 8, 2007 @ 7:22 am |Reply

  5. Great post, Lass. I’m gonna give it a go.

    My favorite car was my 1973 Datsun 240 Z. I bought it used when I was a junior in high school. Susie Daugherty’s car. She was a pom pom girl, and I was “the shit” after I bought it.

    Well why wouldn’t I be? I was driving a Oldsmobubble before that one.

    Comment by tony — February 8, 2007 @ 6:34 pm |Reply

  6. Hah!
    You reminded me of driving my mother’s van too.
    My boyfriend and I would refer to it as “sex van”.
    I can’t probably count how many parking spots we found around the city.
    I hope my mother never knew that her van moonlighted as a cheap motel room.

    Comment by Jay — February 22, 2007 @ 2:20 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

